WASHA’s 2020 Research Symposium was held at the new Curtin Midland campus on 26th February 2020.  Recipients of the inaugural WA Department of Health Clinical Simulation and Training Advisory Network (CSTAN) grants program were formally announced.  The six successful teams provided a synopsis of their project.  A tour of the simulation facilities and networking rounded out the afternoon’s proceedings.

WASHA acknowledge the support of Faculty of Health Sciences, Curtin University and sponsorship by the Office of the Chief Medical Officer, WA Department of Health. This was another successful event offering those involved in healthcare simulation across WA the chance to network and promote research activities, with likely future collaboration and dissemination to follow.

See the six successful projects here, with project team email contacts:

Mr Michael Levitt explaining the vision for development of simulation-based training for WA healthcare and ongoing support through the CSTAN grants program.
Dr Michelle Kelly, Curtin Simulation Co-lead, WASHA Research Portfolio and event Master of Ceremony. Michelle was applauded for her recent worldwide recognition at the IMSH conference (San Diego 2020) where she was awarded Fellowship of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare. In absentia, Kirsty Freeman was also recognised for this prestigious achievement.
Dr Ellen Taylor (CSTAN Chair) announcing the grant recipients.
Mental Health Emergency Response Program – Grant recipients with CMO, Mr Michael Levitt
Team: (L to R) Ms Jeanne Young, Dr Lucia Gilman, Ms Kylie Fawcett, Ms Alex Knowles
Paediatric Goals of Patient Care Program – Mr Michael Levitt congratulating Dr Lisa Cuddeford and Ms Rebecca Brown
Ms Sara Hansen and Dr Brennan Mills (Grant recipients for project ‘Virtual reality training for early identification and de-escalation of violent and aggressive behaviours in WA Emergency Departments’) with Prue Andrus (WASHA Treasurer). Mr Peter Sabatino, Curtin University Midland Campus Operations Coordinator (background left).
Curtin University team, Dr Michelle Kelly (centre)
Dr Ellen Taylor (CSTAN Chair), Mr Michael Levitt (Chief Medical Officer) and Mr Brendan Robb (Manager Workforce Development, Office of CMO and Clinical Excellence)
Dr Diane Dennis, Curtin Simulation Co-lead, guiding facility tours
Dr Alina Miranda leading facility tour group
Dr Sara Armitage (Grant recipient for project ‘Practical Obstetric Multi-Professional Training (PrOMPT) in country WA’ – other team members are Dr Jared Watts, Kate Reynolds and Melissa Shackleton) with Dr Susanna Fleck
 Dr Cathryn Josif, Assistant Dean of Nursing, Majarlin Kimberley Centre for Remote Health and Professor Gervase Chaney, Dean School of Medicine Fremantle (both from The University of Notre Dame Australia).